Roles and Permissions FAQs

Avatar

By Jitta

updated about 1 month ago

Find answers and general information quickly about Roles & Permissions in Gist.

Who owns a Gist workspace?

We assign workspace "ownership" to the user who creates the workspace and we automatically assign them the Owner role. To protect your workspace, only the Owner can transfer ownership to another team member via the "Transfer ownership" settings accessible from the Workspace general settings.

In addition, owners serve as the primary point of contact for billing purposes. Invoices are sent to them, but if a specific billing contact has been defined for a workspace, invoices go to that contact instead.

Does the name of the role matter for permissions?

No, but we recommend using names such as "Administrator" or "Content Editors" to help indicate what the role is used for.

Who can update the credit card or change plans?

Only the Owner and Super Admins can update the payment method or make changes to the plan.

What happens if the Owner is not available?

If the Owner has left the company without transferring ownership, you can initiate a password reset to the Owner's email address and reset that password, then log in as the Owner and transfer ownership. You may need to request access to or a reactivation of that email from your IT department or email admin. If you are unable to complete that process, give us a shout via in-app chat and provide as much details as possible to verify that you are the new owner of the workspace.

A role's permission was changed, when will it apply to the teammates assigned to the role?

Permissions are usually updated in real-time and the new permissions and restrictions would be immediately applied to the teammates.

I changed permissions and locked myself out of the site

Contact your workspace's Owner or Super Admins, they will need to login and add your account to an appropriate role to grant you the permissions you need.

How do I set the permissions so that a teammate can only access conversations they've been assigned to?

You can set the Conversation Access to either "Assigned to me" or "Assigned to me and my teams" in order to do so.

I need my colleague to be able to download invoices for our accounting team. How can they do this?

At the moment, only Owner and Super Admins can access billing section of the workspace. Alternatively, add your colleague as one of the billing contacts and we will email them a copy of the invoice each month.

Can I prevent a teammate from replying to conversations or adding notes?

If a teammate has permission to access a conversation (using Conversation Access permission), that teammate is able to reply to or leave notes in the conversation. There is no method to restrict replies in individual conversations.

Is there a limit to the number of roles I can create within my workspace?

You can create up to 25 roles in a workspace.

I have a user in a brand new position, how do I create a new role?

You can start from scratch or create the new role based on an existing one. In the latter case, copy the role, rename it and then edit the copied version.

The permissions in the default roles are not exactly what I want to assign to users. What’s the best way to modify the role?

The easiest way is to create a copy of the default role that closest matches your needs and then make the corresponding changes.

Did this answer your question?